Loose as a Seuss

Image

As I indicate by my signature, I am an admiring fan of Theodor Geisel, known to the world as Dr. Seuss. FOX IN SOCKS charmed my own socks off me, and one of my fondest memories is reading it aloud to my toddler daughter.

Here are the words to the acrostic:

Let’s start with a task that will not anger bees
Leaves zinnias unfettered and gracing the trees
Out where it’s assumed that a favoring breeze
Obscures a disaster with greatest of ease
One way to get smash hits as featured in Hulu
Opine that the seaside has snagged you a lulu
See–he’ll never cease to amaze all us toddlers
Serves up Feats of antics for Mollies & Coddlers
Escape to his Casa–it’s Perfect for Dawdlers

…and please do visit http://www.seussville.com, where the Good Doctor lives on!

5 comments
  1. We had ‘And to think that I saw it on Mulberry street’ at home. I’ve read it dozens of times, but it’s just recently that I discovered it was by Doctor Seuss. We mostly had french Tintin and Asterix to read, as well as some Joan Aiken children’s novels, Charlie Brown and thousands of science fiction books and magazines.

    • Now that sounds like a great environment for growing up, Michel. I’ll have to give Tintin a try. Did you see the movie, and, if so, what did you think of it? And have you seen any of the Dr. Seuss screen adaptations?

  2. Donald Miller said:

    This composition seems to have everything going for it.Even though there are a lot of characters in it, there’s also a decent amount of white space, and that is enough to make it work. The whimsical tone is spot on.

    • Thanks, Donald! I spent a little time in Seussville getting the feel. I wanted my page to be Seussian as well as OneWithClayish. 🙂

Leave a Reply

