Have Dog Must Travel

Image

About ten years ago I read John Steinbeck’s TRAVELS WITH CHARLEY IN SEARCH OF AMERICA. Mr. Steinbeck and his dog, a “standard” (tall) French poodle, lived the gypsy life in a beat-up camper, years before Charles Kuralt went “On the Road” for CBS. I remember vividly Mr. Steinbeck’s description of bigotry in a group he called “the cheerleaders;” the rest is a vague blur. But the idea of traveling with a dog appeals to me. I would want to do it on foot, though.

The man and dog in my drawing are not meant to represent Steinbeck and Charley, nor the late great William Doglas Bowers and me. They’re an invented guy and his invented dog, pedestrianing out in the countryside near a highway.

Here are the words to the triple acrostic:

Hit a road with a non-mangy mutt
Arcs & souls & butterfly flutter
Velvet glades & gusto to have
End the angst: the hinterland salve’ll

It’s been almost four years since Bill skipped town (Earth). I so miss him.

2 comments
  1. Hi Garry,

    Great character in the illustration of both the guy and the dog. And great complicity between the two. I’d never seen a dog with a backpack before last week, this is my second one. Are they a new idea (dog back packs) or have I been just missing them?

    There, is, I think, a bit of confusion between the guy’s backpack and the mountain sky line, perhaps the pack is riding a little high? Perhaps the mountain line that touches the left cheek, while the right part of the backpack, that should be in shadow, is separated from the shoulder by a white gap, that “separates’ the pack from the guy, and partly turns the pack into a bit of mountain? Nit picking, I know.

    Best regards, looking forwards to the next one!

    Michel Lamontagne

  2. Great comment, Michel. Indeed, the pack is riding at an unnaturally high level. If I ever do a remake or a painting of the image I will use a model and get it right.

    Dogs and backpacks have been around for at least a few years.

    Next one: ETA twenty minutes. đŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

