Appley Encore

Image

I wasn’t very happy with my apple drawing yesterday, so I tried, tried again, with the notion that if an apple does an encore there better be some core involved.

Here are the words, and I hope my friend and correspondent Michel Lamontagne forgives the atrocious use of French.

An Appetite may intervene
Perhaps divert to soup tureen
Perhaps les pommes’ll suit Jean-Luc
Legumes en table–not too cuckoo
Esprit de corps will cause to soar
Yet Winesaps please us even more

6 comments
  1. Delightful apples! This blog is one on my favorite sources for new words! 🙂
    I didn’t know the Winesap variety. And of course, the esprit the core touches the very center of things….

    • Thanks, Michel!

      I’m curious: do you have a nickname?

  2. No nickname. My mother in law sometimes calls me ‘Mon grand’ 😉 , which is apt since I’m about a foot taller than her. I did have a nickname in grade school, but I hated it deeply, so I will let it remain in blessed obscurity.
    Do you?

    • I do have a nickname, based on my last name and bestowed by a friend I met when I was nine. My last name is Bowers, and my nickname is “The Bow.” Sort of like The Fonz, but more nerdy.

  3. A most excellent nickname. In these days, when Hunger Games rules the movie houses, The Bow is a really topical and sharp handle!

    • Thanks, mon grand! (Translation: Big Fella!) 🙂

Leave a Reply

