Portraiture: Hit or Misc

Rummaging through the image archives I found a spate of portraiture tries from five years or so ago. These are the best of a not-all-that-good bunch.

Here’s James Joyce:

Image

Robert Heinlein:

Image

Margaret Bourke-White, with a seeming touch of Clint Eastwood:

Image

Eleanor Roosevelt:

Image

The enigmatic and tragically-overlooked Alice Sheldon, alias James Tiptree, Jr.:

Image

The prolific inventor and thug hirer Thomas Edison:

Image

And, last but not least, the physically driven, self-sculpted Mikhail Baryshnikov:

Image

The drawings, though all flawed, represent the work it has taken to make what I do now, though flawed, less so with time and trouble. The best two-word advice for the art student, courtesy of stellar artist and sensei Darlene Goto, is “SLOW DOWN!;” the best three-word advice, available through the public domain, is “Practice, practice, practice.”

6 comments
  1. Hey, Gary. How ya doing? How come you just clicked the Like button on my site without leaving a comment? Catcha later, I hope.

    • I Liked it. I was going to suggest via comment that you do an Internet search on “Spam Haiku,” but I got distracted, if not waylaid. That’s what working full-time and being a ceramics sculptor full-time and composing blog posts full-time will do to you. In my defense, note that you’ve just made a comment without the least reference to the blog post you’ve commented on–like Non-Denial Denials, Non-Comment Comments are rife. Catcha later, I hope.

      • That comment has such a different tone to it than the one that got me to have the highest esteem for you. You might not recall, but I do. I made a not very nice comment on Ebert’s blog and you replied, “Friend Don, etc. That’s always been why I’ve kept in touch with you.

      • Sorry about the tone, friend Don. I am harried. But I stand by my dubiously-toned comment.

      • “But I stand by my dubiously-toned comment.”
        šŸ˜¦

        I’m dead tired right now, so I’m off to dreamland. I’ll comment on your portraits tomorrow.

  2. Completely agree with you about the need to slow down when it comes to drawing and painting. Probably not so much in terms of writing, which can always be fine-tuned later, unless one let’s the project drift completely off course.

Leave a Reply

