My own private Salon des Refusés (Part One)

Today I was looking for an unfinished page I’d undone-edly done on Sally Ride. The Science Channel just showed a terrific movie about Richard Feynman’s involvement in the commission investigating the Challenger disaster, and watching it I learned that Sally Ride was the one who’d indirectly pointed Feynman to the O-Rings as the probable cause.

Alas, I’ve thus far not found the Sally Ride page. What I did find was a boatload of abandoned works. Either my enthusiasm for the idea had dimmed, or it was worthy but a lot of work to finish, or I was stumped for a rhyme or an image completion, or the drawing had gone sour, or Other. But all of the ones I’m posting here make me wish I could devote more time to them.

Image

Addled Wit Sharpener

Some day there’ll be a pharmacological solution to addled wits. Were this the day, I’d be a customer.

Image

Poetry As Motion

This is well started, but the figure depicted is the last of what would be several poetically posed–and moving–figures.

Image

Ultimate Gargoyle

I want to sculpt some imposing gargoyles before I die. (I have other plans for after I die. [smiles]) Here is a try at gargoyle design.

Image

3Deified

Intended as a quasi-discussion on the trend toward 3d in movies. But ulteriorly I wanted to immortalize yet another bad pun.

Image

Sixto Rodriguez/Sugarman Finder

This would have been a love song to the film SEARCHING FOR SUGARMAN and its subject. I put it off because I would need a lot of time to do it right.

Image

Revolver Resolved

Earlier this year I was invited to participate in an art show entitled “Children and Guns.” I got this far with my would-have-been contribution before the pain of the subject compelled me to stop.

(End of Part One)

Leave a Reply

