Rose Fell

001

How this drawing came to be: Last February I sent my friend Karen, who has done me innumerable favors, a dozen yellow, meaning Friendship, roses, with a card that read KAREN, YOU ARE ALWAYS THERE. I SURE APPRECIATE IT. LOVE, GARY. After she got them and thanked me I asked her to please send me a photo, since I’d never seen them. (We live in different cities.) She graciously did so, and I started a drawing based on the photograph, then stopped in mid-line, following the “put this away for a while” hunch. Today I had another look at it, and the oxymoronic “Rose Fell” popped into my head. Then Faye Dunaway, in a western-southern accent, in LITTLE BIG MAN: “…and I am a Fallen Flowah.” Then Arthur Brown, self-proclaimed “God of Hellfire,” sang the opening lines, quoted above. Then a slide show of Man’s Inhumaneness to Flora and Fauna informed my acrostic.

About Arthur Brown Wikipedia has these trivia of interest:

“Brown quickly earned a reputation for outlandish performances, which included the use of a burning metal helmet, that led to occasional mishaps, such as during an early appearance at the Windsor Festival in 1967, where he wore a colander on his head soaked in methanol. The fuel poured over his head by accident and caught fire; two bystanders doused the flames by pouring beer on Brown’s head, preventing any serious injury. The flaming head then became an Arthur Brown signature.

“On occasion he also stripped naked while performing, most notably in Italy, where, after setting his hair on fire, he was arrested and deported.”

Lastly, one definition of “fell” is an adjective meaning “likely to cause or capable of causing death.” Grateful acknowledgment is given Merriam-Webster, available online.

Leave a Reply

