Richard Feynman’s Truth

Here is an unsigned, undated page I did a few years back. It is almost entirely of Richard Feynman quotations, though I do acrosticize the question/word Truth? with “cut and dried? without a doubt? straight from the horse’s mouth? undeniable? forsooth? aye & begorrah?” because if Professor Feynman taught me one thing, it is that Doubt is essential for seekers of Truth.

001

The quotations:

“Poets say science takes away from the beauty of the stars–mere globs of gas atoms. Nothing is ‘mere.’ I too can see the stars on a desert night, and feel them. But do I see less or more? The vastness of the heavens stretches my imagination–stuck on this carousel my little eye can catch one-million-year-old light. A vast pattern–“

“For a successful technology, reality must take precedence over public relations, for Nature cannot be fooled.”

“Science alone of all the subjects contains within itself the lesson of the danger of belief in the infallibility of the greatest teachers in the preceding generation . . . Learn from science that you must doubt the experts.”

“I can live with doubt and uncertainty and not knowing. I think it is much more interesting to live not knowing than to have answers that might be wrong.”

“Shut up and calculate!”

“Physics is like sex. Sure, it may give some practical results, but that’s not why we do it.”

“Listen, buddy, if I could tell you in a minute what I did, it wouldn’t be worth the Nobel Prize.”

Leave a Reply

