Colleen Kennedy, Part 2

“Shoot for the moon and if you miss you will still be among the stars.” Les Brown, Businessman/Motivator

Colleen shot for the moon, and hit, landing at the College of William and Mary, which has been around since the late 1600s and is the second-oldest still-thriving educational institution in the United States of America. (Now go find out who William and Mary were, and be wowed.) She’s earned an Associate Professorship, and in 2013 she won their Shirley Aceto Award. She gets things done.

So for a proper tribute to Colleen, I shot for the moon. I missed. I wanted the Definitive Colleen Page to be done in ink-wash. And, appropriately, I gave it the old College Try. But I am a month or more to get unrusty enough to be able to do so, as evidenced by this Reality Check:

002

So this time round I’m sticking to what I’ve been doing, which is Pencil, Plain and Tall. Here is what happened:

001

One more thing about Colleen: I asked her if she had any pictures of herself that were pensive and/or serious. Some time went by, and then she replied that she couldn’t find any. When I read her reply, a memory of her floated to the surface: at a Glendale High School assembly long, long ago, she was participating in a skit to stump for a candidate for student-elected office. (I forget the candidate.) Colleen’s line was “Chalk one up for Women’s Liberation!” She delivered the line with gusto, wetting her thumb and chalking the air with it. Chalk one up for YOU, dear Colleen!

2 comments
  1. Love the inkwork, don’t give up on it you have a great talent with it. But I understand it’s tough to do and often not as satisfactory as a detailed drawing. Gmail has started making a direct link to these posts again! I’ll be able to look at them more easily.

  2. Thank you, my friend. I will practice daily. Hope to do a Michel Lamontagne portrait within a week or so, excluding calligraphy unless I get pens. Stay tuned. 🙂

Leave a Reply

