Index-Card Tribute to Jack Kirby

There’s a group on Facebook that is revving up for a two-month stretch of daily artwork on an index card. This is known as the I.C.A.D. Challenge, and it runs June 1st through July 31st. Meanwhile, group members, including me who just joined, are warming up, some with one of the ten prompts the group leader has provided.

I got my feet wet yesterday with one of those prompts: “Make a doodle of your own name.” Today I did a prompt of my own inclinative devising: “Draw one of your personal heroes.” I drew Jack Kirby, using as photo source one of the photographs in the book KIRBY: KING OF THE COMICS by Mark Evanier. This book was loaned to me by Russ Kazmierczak, Jr., who, when he saw my index-carded Jack Kirby, urged me to post it. So here we are.

kirby 052315

Leave a Reply

