I.C.A.D. Day 14 — Salt and Pepper

For Day 14 of this challenge, I decided to get more up close and personal with the subject matter to demonstrate that Salt and Pepper differ more complexly than black vs. white. I used Google Images in searches on “salt crystals” and “peppercorns.” After I did my drawing, lettering and signature, I did a little origami on the card so that within the card the scan would include soft and sharp focus (I raised the lid of the scanner just a bit via the thickness of a pad of Post-Its) for a feel of looking-through-a-microscope. After the scan I used Microsoft’s photoediting software to tint it blue and goose up the midtone darks and the contrast.

s n p 061415

2 comments
  1. Very good one. Perhaps my favorite in this series, which is is coming along nicely.

    • Thanks, Michel–your encouragement is welcome indeed!

Leave a Reply

