28 July 2015

Nose blockage awoke me just shy of 4 a.m. My alarm was set for 4:45 but rising would enable me to arrive at work an hour earlier than intended, and squeeze in that much more overtime.

The walk was warm and humid, and a sweat-spot began to grow on the top side of my belly, which, though diminished, retains some convexity. I ended up taking off the shirt and waving it around to get some evaporation, and thought a little about the physics behind evaporative cooling.

Work was a pleasure. Despite a lack of sleep I was sharper than usual, and my Quality Assurance output reached an all-time high for one day.

On the walk home there was a dead pigeon. I felt ghoulish taking her picture, but she so reminded me of Rodin’s “Fallen Caryatid Carrying Her Stone.”

golden pigeon

The Fallen Caryatid Carrying her Stone circa 1880-1, cast 1950 Auguste Rodin 1840-1917 Purchased 1950 http://www.tate.org.uk/art/work/N05955

The Fallen Caryatid Carrying her Stone circa 1880-1, cast 1950 Auguste Rodin 1840-1917 Purchased 1950 http://www.tate.org.uk/art/work/N05955

When I got home I fell into exhausted sleep. Not long after I woke my steady girlfriend Joy stopped by on her way home. We talked about her birthday, which is tomorrow, the weird skin-thing on my arm, which she agrees I should keep an eye on, and sewing, among other things. I walked her to her car and after she was gone I got a little money from an ATM and for the first time stopped by The Hideaway, a bar and grille close to where I live now.

hideaway

I’m still there, enjoying their Wi-Fi, eating some fantastic nachos made with super-fresh ingredients, and sipping on a Sprite. I’m up way past my bedtime, but some things are better than sleep.

2 comments
  1. kwicksand said:

    You are an amazing man

    • You should see me amazingly blush, like now. 🙂

Leave a Reply

