wisheroo

image

Idle chatter in these parts often begins with “When I win the lottery, I will . . .” It is fun but people don’t really think it through. People who win the lottery quickly find that their winnings have a down side, for instance the rise in probability that bad people will want to get their hands on part or all of their money.

“Be careful what you wish for” seems so obvious, but requires first to know what we really, really, really, REALLY want. Today one of my wishes is likely to come true: I will be having a meal at Tokyo Express with my daughter Katharine. I love her with all my father’s heart, and I have the acute realization that life is finite, and special moments are numbered. I won’t be making a big deal about it, but today is more valuable than winning any lottery.

2 comments

Leave a Reply

