A Job at the Airport

Real-time update: This minute I’m at the main branch of the Phoenix Public Library. I’ve just typed the following message to Mike, the RemX agency liaison for ECS: “Mike, just to let you know: I have accepted a job at the airport. I want to keep working for RemX/ECS, but my only available day, near term anyway, is Tuesday.” And I’ve just thumbed the SEND key. With such mundane actions a life’s course diverts.

My new employer, SSP America, has fine-dining establishments in more than two dozen countries spanning the globe. I chanced on their Craigslist ad last week, waited my turn for an interview, and was hired on the spot for a cashiering position, which I learned yesterday was with Matt’s Big Breakfast, in Terminal 4 near the B gates, and past the security checkpoint. My previous post “certifiable” included an image of the Food Handler’s Certificate I was required to earn in order to get the job. And today I learned that “cashier” is only a partial description of the job.

But: it’s a job at SKY HARBOR INTERNATIONAL AIRPORT. Second busiest airport in the country, I’m told. And I’ve been in love with Sky Harbor since I was shorter than the countertop at Circle K where I plunked down my penny for Bazooka Joe bubble gum.

The real change in my life, I’m hoping, will be new fodder for my images, poetry and fiction. But for now I’m just savoring the two sweetest words in the English language: “You’re hired.”

 

 

5 comments
  1. Michele Chavez said:

    Congratulations on the new job! I, too, have loved Sky Harbor since I was a little tyke. No other airport seems to have the same fascination for me.

    • It is a magical place, Michele. Real respect for local art and artists, too. And right now there’s a great photo-history of the airport on display. Don’t miss it! Fly in for the Holidays! 🙂

  2. Russ said:

    Congratulations, my dear friend! 2015 has been a rough year for so many of us, and I’m happy to see it loosen its grip and offer a gift…to a most worthy recipient, to boot! I’m looking forward to seeing the world through the Bowers Terminal!

    • Thanks, Russ!! ETA a week or so on first glimpses, barring flight delays. 🙂

      • AND–thanks for being such a great friend. You’re definitely in the 2015 Highlight Reel.

Leave a Reply

