Estamos en la Lucha

“We are in the fight.” My friend Irma Pacheco took this selfie of the two of us on Thanksgiving Day, which was Day 3 of our Unite Here Local 11 union’s strike to get a fair contract with SSP America. Irma has put her heart and soul into improving the lot of our community. I am proud to be her friend.

The strike will officially end–for now–at midnight tonight. We have won two sessions at the bargaining table, starting next week. So I will put this clean Strike Laundry away. I will be happy to return to work tomorrow morning, and I will be overjoyed when a fair contract is achieved.

But I and my fellow Union members know that the fight is not over. Should negotiations fail, we will put our shirts back on, load and unload vans full of protest signs and bullhorns and banners and tables and five-gallon drums and drumsticks, and go right back out there again, for justice, fairness, and our families.

Leave a comment